







Call for Applications CRC Summer School 2021: Science-Based Policy Advice May 26-27, 2021 – Online/Hybrid

The CRC 190 Rationality and Competition together with the Berlin School of Economics, the Economics Department at LMU Munich, and the International Doctoral Program "Evidence-Based Economics" is organizing a summer school on **Science-Based Policy Advice** on May the 26th and 27th, 2021. The summer school aims at bringing together junior researchers (Advanced PhD students, Postdocs, and Assistant professors) who work on policy relevant topics in economics. While we welcome applications on a wide range of topics from applied economics to behavioral economics, having a clear policy focus is essential.

We are very happy that **Ingvild Almas** (Norwegian School of Economics), **Adeline Delavande** (University of Technology Sydney), **Hillary Hoynes** (UC Berkeley) and **Mario Macis** (Johns Hopkins University) will deliver the keynote lectures of the summer school. The keynote speakers will also participate in the research sessions to comment on the research projects presented.

The summer school is organized with the financial support of CRC/TRR-190 "Rationality and Competition", funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the project "Economic Insights", funded by the Leibniz Association.

Adapting to the online format, the summer school will have short presentations (including research ideas) and time for joint discussions with feedback from the keynote speakers and Berlin and Munich experts.

All postdocs, assistant professors and advanced PhD students from Berlin and LMU Munich are invited to submit papers or extended abstracts via e-mail to nhaase@diw.de by April 1, 2021. The submissions should additionally include a short policy statement (1 or 2 sentences) that aims at summarizing the study or the results for policy makers in a non-technical manner.

Notifications will be sent out shortly thereafter. We strongly encourage submissions of preliminary papers.

In case of questions please reach out to the organizers: Florian Englmaier, Peter Haan, Dorothea Kübler, Levent Neyse and Joachim Winter